Keynote Speakers


Professor T. S. Zhao

Cheong Ying Chan Professor of Engineering and Environment

Chair Professor of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Director of the HKUST Energy Institute

Senior Fellow of the HKUST Institute for Advanced Study

Conference Topic: Energy Storage for the Age of Renewables




Professor Chris Twinn

Chris is a strategic sustainability adviser with more than 38 years’ experience in the design and construction of the built environment.

Taking a ‘Total Design’ approach to integrating planning & policy, architecture, engineering, & economics, his is recognised as a world leader in this field.

Meanwhile he continues his in-depth involvement in the practical design and delivery of fabric and systems for environmentally sensitive buildings.





Professor Peter D. Lund

Dr. Peter D. Lund is Professor in Advanced Energy Systems at Aalto University, Finland. He has close to 40 years experience in energy technologies, innovations, systems, and policies.

He has had visiting positions at Hubei University (Wuhan), Technical University of Dresden (Germany), Southeast University (Nanjing). Dr. Lund is active in senior roles with European Union initiatives in energy.

He is member of the Swedish Engineering Academy in Finland. Dr. Lund is Editor for Interdisciplinary Reviews: Energy and Environment and Editor-Europe of Energy Research (Wiley). He has given numerous invited talks and published 500+ research papers. He has been internationally awarded, lastly with the Jinling Award in 2016.





Professor Shengqiang Shen

Professor Shengqiang Shen got his PhD in Dalian University of Technology in 1989. He works in the university since then and he got the professorship in 1997.

He is served as the Chairman of the Engineering Thermophysics Specialized Committee of Chinese University Society.

He is also the Chief-Editor of Chinese Journal of Thermal Science and Technology.




Professor Wen Liu

Bachelor and Ph.D of University of Science and Technology of China (USTC);

Postdoctoral Fellow of McMaster University, Canada;

Director of the Key Laboratory of Optoelectronics Science and Technology, USTC.