Professor Khaled Al-Sallal

Khaled A. Al-Sallal, PhD is currently a full professor of architectural engineering and the technical manager of the Daylighting Simulation Laboratory at UAE University. His area of expertise is sustainable design with emphasis on building energy. He has a Ph.D. from Texas A&M University and a Master’s degree from Arizona State University.

His teaching and research has focused on building performance and simulation, carbon-neutral design, daylighting, and climatic responsive architecture. In 2011, he established the state-of-the-art Daylighting Simulation Laboratory at UAE University that runs under his technical management. He has taken major roles in many research and design/consulting projects that introduced new sustainable building design ideas and technologies to the Middle East.

He has been very active in soliciting research funds. Among his innovations, he developed a novel methodology to measure and simulate trees interception of natural lighting in architectural spaces useful for sustainable design applications; and he created a new concept of high performance cool skylights for hot climates; which is currently being investigated. He has supervised several Ph.D. and M.Sc. students and helped them to complete their dissertations/theses. He has produced numerous publications in international refereed journals and contributed several chapters in edited books. He is the author and editor of a new book titled “Low Energy Low Carbon Architecture – Recent Advances and Future Directions”, published by CRC – Taylor and Francis Group.

He has given numerous lectures and presentations in various conferences, meetings, and scientific forums. He served as the Editor-in-Chief of the EJER and served in the editorial board of four scientific journals. He is a member of the IBPSA Board of Directors and founder and president of IBPSA-UAE Affiliate (IBPSA-UAE) since 2005. He is the WSSET Vice President, Middle East since 2009. He is an active full member of ASHRAE, Vice President of ASHRAE Falcon Chapter: since 2011, and a Member of Board of Governors since 2009. He received several awards including: Best Research Project Award of Engineering and Award of Excellence in Teaching, UAEU.